Greensburg/Decatur County Chamber of Commerce seeks nominations

first_imgGreensburg, In. — Nominations for three awards from the Greensburg/Decatur County Chamber of Commerce are currently being accepted until Oct. 18, 2018. Those awards include the Entrepreneur of the Year, the Chamber’s Small Business Grant, and the prestigious Don Horan Community Service Leader of the Year Award.Established fulltime in 1975, (the first presentation was in 1961), the Chamber’s Community Service Leader of the Year Award is considered the top award in the community.  The award is to recognize citizens who have participated actively and continuously in community service activities in Greensburg and Decatur County, making a difference for our community and county.In 2013, to commemorate the contributions business leader and philanthropist Don Horan left behind following his death, the Community Service Award was renamed The Don Horan Community Service Leader of the Year Award. Don was instrumental in bringing new business to our community and he was active in promoting the Greensburg/Decatur County area. He also contributed greatly to causes in our area, and preferred to stay out of the spotlight of those contributions.It is intended that such activity of those nominated be diverse and that the recipients be selected without regard to age, gender, occupation, political or religious affiliation. The record of the community participation of the nominee should be described. Such participation could include involvement with family, church, social work, civic groups, business, elderly, youth and other forms of volunteerism.Since the award was first established, there have been 72 winners, with some years having more than one winner. Previous winners have included, but not limited to the likes of Walter Lowe, Gilman Stewart, John Stewart, Hugh Miller, Cleo Duncan, Morgan Miers, Frank Braden, Mike Gasper, David Fry, Bill and Jackie Blasdel, Jim Saler, Bryan Robbins, Cliff Byard, Joe and Susan Rust, and John Corya, just to name a few.The Greensburg/Decatur County Chamber of Commerce is also seeking nomination for Entrepreneur of the Year, an award first established in 2006 by the Chamber. Previous winners have included Bill Obermeyer of Obermeyer Agri Group, Denim and Honey, Cutting Edge Sporting Goods, Neal’s Chop Shop, Steir Heating and Cooling, as well as others of course.Finally, the Greensburg/Decatur County Chamber of Commerce presents an annual Small Business Grant of $1,000 to a Chamber member business in good standing as selected by a committee who reviews the applications.Applications for each award are available on the Chamber website here. They are also available at the Chamber office or at the front desk of Greensburg City Hall, 314 W. Washington St., Greensburg, IN 47240.Deadline to submit applications and nominations is 4 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 16.Winners will be recognized at the Chamber’s annual banquet being held this year on Friday, Nov. 16, 2018, at Chamber member and supporter Indiana Grand Racing and Casino in Shelby County. More information about tickets to the event will be released soon.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *