Arrieta edges Dodgers Greinke, Kershaw for NL Cy Young

first_img• INSIDE THE DODGERS BLOG: Complete NL Cy Young Award voting resultsGreinke, who became a free agent on Friday, was the most consistent of the three pitchers. His ERA never rose above 1.95 and his 19-3 record led the majors.Kershaw, who had won the award in three of the previous four seasons, struck out more batters than any pitcher since 2002.He became the first pitcher to finish first, second or third in five consecutive seasons since the award was given separately to pitchers from the National League and American League in 1967 — the first season after Sandy Koufax retired.Only two of 30 voters listed both Kershaw and Greinke ahead of Arrieta on their ballots, and both did so in that order. Chicago Cubs right-hander Jake Arrieta won the National League Cy Young Award on Wednesday, edging Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke and teammate Clayton Kershaw in a close race for the award given to the league’s best pitcher.The final vote was predictably close. Arrieta received 17 first-place votes and 169 total points, compared to 10 first-place votes and 147 points for Greinke. Kershaw received three first-place votes and 101 points.Greinke led the major leagues in earned-run average (1.66), Arrieta had the most wins (22) and Kershaw had the most strikeouts (301). All three pitchers started at least 32 games, won at least 16, and pitched at least 220 innings.Arrieta likely clinched the award with a strong finish. His 0.75 ERA after the All-Star break was a modern record, and his 0.37 ERA in the season’s final two months helped the Cubs clinch a wild-card berth. Arrieta, Greinke and Kershaw were the only pitchers listed on every ballot. Former UCLA star Gerrit Cole, now pitching for the Pittsburgh Pirates, was the only other pitcher to receive a third-place vote.For Greinke to have won the award, at least four voters would have had to swap him and Arrieta on their ballots. It wasn’t the closest National League vote ever, though. Steve Bedrosian beat Rick Sutcliffe by two points for the 1987 Cy Young Award.Greinke and Kershaw are the eighth set of teammates to place second and third in the balloting. Kershaw endorsed Greinke for the award multiple times during the season, and again Wednesday in a television interview before the award was presented.NL CY YOUNGHere’s how the NL Cy Young Award voting went:Jake Arrieta, Cubs 169Zack Greinke, Dodgers 147Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers 101Gerrit Cole, Pirates 40Max Scherzer, Nationals 32Madison Bumgarner, Giants 8Jacob deGrom, Mets 7Mark Melancon, Pirates 5John Lackey, Cardinals 1Points were awarded on a 7-4-3-2-1 scalecenter_img Newsroom GuidelinesNews TipsContact UsReport an Errorlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *