Prithvi Shaw ruled out of Test series in Australia, Mayank Agarwal named replacement

first_imgPrithvi Shaw has been ruled out of the Test series in Australia following an ankle injury he suffered during India’s warm-up match against Cricket Australia XI on November 30.Shaw had scored a hundred on debut against West Indies last month and was expected to play a key role in Australia. However, his injury meant he could not play in Adelaide and Perth. Coach Ravi Shastri was hopeful of his recovery for the third Test but that has now been ruled out.”Opening batsman Prithvi Shaw, who had suffered a left ankle injury while attempting a catch in the practice game against CA XI has been ruled out of the ongoing Test series against Australia. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Mayank Agarwal as his replacement,” BCCI said in a statement.Mayank Agarwal, the Karnataka run-machine, has been named Shaw’s replacement. The 27-year-old has scored 3521 runs from 45 first-class matches and is considered to have a bright future.Agarwal was part of the Indian team for the two-Test series against West Indies at home but he did not play a match. He was disappointed after being left out of the Test series in Australia but had told India Today he would continue to grit out.”Every player goes through a different journey. He must understand and accept it. A player should only think about those things which are under his control. If he keeps on performing then sooner or later, he will be rewarded for it,” Agarwal had told India Today in October.advertisementShaw’s injury meant India opened with KL Rahul and Murali Vijay – the pair did precious little across four innings and their failure subsequently put more pressure on the rest of the batting order. “The selectors have also added all-rounder Hardik Pandya to India’s squad for the third and fourth Test to be played in Melbourne and Sydney respectively,” the BCCI statement added.India’s squad for the 3rd and 4th Test against Australia: Virat Kohli (captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Parthiv Patel (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwallast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *